Visit the Kitsap Public Health District website for current information on COVID-19

AWC Board of Directors

Posted on July 21, 2020

Port Orchard Mayor Putaansuu reelected to Association of Washington Cities Board of Directors



CONTACT: Brian Daskam, Communications Manager, AWC

July 21, 2020

(360) 753-4137

[email protected]

OLYMPIA, WA – The Association of Washington Cities (AWC) announced that Port Orchard Mayor Rob Putaansuu was recently reelected to its Board of Directors.

“It is an honor to serve on AWC’s Board of Directors,” said Putaansuu. “Washington’s cities have a unique opportunity to work together through AWC. I will continue to be a passionate ambassador and advocate for the priorities established by our members.”

Putaansuu, who has served on the AWC Board since 2018, was reelected during the association’s Business Meeting on June 25. He serves District 12, which includes the 21 cities and towns in Clallam, Grays Harbor, Jefferson, Kitsap, Mason, Pacific, and Wahkiakum counties.

Putaansuu was elected to the Port Orchard City Council in 2007 and elected mayor of Port Orchard in 2015.

The AWC Board of Directors is the association’s governing body. The board is comprised of 25 directors, 23 of whom are mayors or city councilmembers from Washington cities or towns, and two non-elected city officials who also serve as the president and past president of the Washington City/County Management Association.

AWC serves its members through advocacy, education, and services. Founded in 1933, AWC is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan corporation that represents Washington’s cities and towns before the state legislature, the state executive branch, and with regulatory agencies. Membership is voluntary. However, AWC consistently maintains 100 percent participation from Washington’s 281 cities and towns. AWC also provides training, data and publications, and programs such as the AWC Employee Benefit Trust, AWC Risk Management Service Agency, AWC Workers’ Comp Retro, AWC Drug and Alcohol Consortium, and AWC GIS Consortium.



Close window